Aluminium front doors for the highest requirements

Aluminium: a lightweight material with many talents

Aluminium is not only an attractive material for doors ‑ it is also used as packaging material, in the aerospace and construction industries or in our kitchens. We encounter aluminium in a multitude of forms. There are many good reasons for this. Aluminium is flexible and resilient, dimensionally stable and lightweight. It meets the highest requirements as regards design and economy or sustainability and also offers concrete advantages when it comes to fire prevention.

Versatile characteristics

  • Extremely weather-resistant, as an aluminium oxide layer forms on contact with oxygen, protecting the metal against corrosion. This layer is only a few nanometres thick and is quickly renewed if damaged.
  • For the last 100 years, about 75 per cent of the aluminium produced worldwide has been constantly recycled. The recycling rate in the construction sector is 95 per cent and rising.
  • Aluminium is easily formed and worked, for example by casting, punching, extrusion or bending. It can be further processed by means of drilling, cutting, milling, welding or bonding.
  • Its high thermal and electrical conductivity make it suitable for use in the electrical engineering and electronics industry as well as in our kitchens. For many applications, it is of advantage that this metal is non-magnetic.
  • Aluminium can be used at extremely low temperatures of up to -269 °C, close to absolute zero. Aluminium does not burn and emits no toxic vapours or gases, even when exposed to extreme heat. And with a melting point of around 660 °C, aluminium also has very good fire-protection properties.

Decorative coating finishes

As it protects itself with a layer of aluminium oxide, aluminium does not in fact require additional protective coating. In many cases, however, such coatings are applied for decorative purposes – for example, in the case of home entrance doors from Groke.

Groke aluminium front doors are powder-coated in our innovative in-house facility, which changes their colour in just five minutes. This means we can cater to individual customer wishes and supply doors in almost any colour. To ensure perfect results, the system operates under clean-room conditions, and 95 per cent of the waste water is continually recycled. The light-fast, impact-, scratch-, shock- and weather-resistant coating on each product in subjected to rigorous quality tests.

Aluminium powder-coating plant at Groke

State-of-the-art production facilities and recycling

Further technological development, the optimisation of processes and the use of cutting-edge filter technology mean that today, aluminium is produced in Germany in accordance with the highest production standards worldwide. Emissions such as gases or dust from fluorides are almost completely filtered out during the production process. Waste water is treated and reused in the production cycle, filter dust is recycled and the waste gas from recycling plants is also purified.

Aluminium is also a sustainable material due to its long service life and the low care and maintenance effort required. The SOMMER Group is certified to ISO 50001 and employs an energy management system to ensure responsible use of resources and climate protection during production.

Further information

You can read more about why aluminium is an important material in architecture and how this lightweight metal is extracted in our full article in PDF format:

Material

Aluminum-Haustüren für höchste Ansprüche

Aluminium: Leichtgewicht mit vielen Talenten

Aluminium macht nicht nur bei Türen eine gute Figur - ob als Verpackungsmaterial, in der Luft- und Raumfahrt, in der Baubranche oder in der heimischen Küche: Dem Werkstoff Aluminium begegnet man in vielfältiger Form. Gute Gründe dafür gibt es genug. Aluminium ist flexibel und widerstandsfähig, formstabil und leichtgewichtig. Es erfüllt höchste Ansprüche, wenn es um Design und Wirtschaftlichkeit oder Nachhaltigkeit geht, und auch für den Brandschutz bietet das Metall handfeste Vorteile.


Vielseitige Eigenschaften

  • Extrem witterungsbeständig, da sich bei dem Kontakt mit Sauerstoff eine Aluminiumoxid-Schicht bildet und das Metall gegen Korrosion schützt. Die Schicht hat eine Stärke von nur wenigen Nanometern und erneuert sich schnell, falls sie beschädigt wird.
  • Rund 75 Prozent des Aluminiums, das weltweit hergestellt wurde, werden seit 100 Jahren immer wieder neu verwendet. Die Recyclingquote von 95 Prozent im Baubereich steigt stetig.
  • Aluminium lässt sich sehr gut verformen und bearbeiten, zum Beispiel durch Gießen, Stanzen, Pressen oder Biegen. Es kann durch Bohren, Schneiden, Fräsen, Schweißen oder Kleben weiter verarbeitet und verbunden werden.
  • Seine hohe thermische und elektrische Leitfähigkeit kommt in der Elektrotechnik und Elektronik oder einfach in der Küche zum Einsatz. Für viele Anwendungen ist es vorteilhaft, dass das Metall nicht magnetisch ist.
  • Aluminium bleibt auch bei extremster Kälte bis -269 °C, nahe dem absoluten Nullpunkt, einsatzfähig. Aluminium brennt nicht, und auch bei extremer Hitze gibt es keine toxischen Dämpfe oder Gase. Mit einem Schmelzpunkt von rund 660 °c sind auch die Brandschutzeigenschaften sehr gut.

Veredelung durch dekorative Beschichtungen

Aluminium benötigt aufgrund der Eigenschaft, sich mit einer Aluminiumoxid-Schicht selbst zu schützen, nicht unbedingt zusätzliche Schutzschichten. Aus dekorativen Gründen werden diese aber dennoch in vielen Fällen eingesetzt – zum Beispiel auch bei den Hauseingangstüren von Groke.

Bei Groke Aluminium-Haustüren wird das Verfahren der Pulverbeschichtung in einer hauseigenen, innovativen Anlage durchgeführt, die einen Farbwechsel in fünf Minuten möglich macht. Damit lassen sich individuelle Kundenwünsche in so gut wie allen Farbtönen realisieren. Für perfekte Ergebnisse herrschen in der Anlage Reinraumbedingungen, und 95 Prozent der Abwässer werden in einem Kreislaufsystem immer wieder verwendet. Die lichtechte, stoß-, kratz-, schlag und wetterfeste Beschichtung jedes Produkts durchläuft strenge Qualitätskontrollen.

Aluminium Pulverbeschichtung bei Groke

Modernste Produktionsanlagen und Recycling

Durch Weiterentwicklungen der Technik und Prozessoptimierungen sowie der Einsatz modernster Filtertechnik wird Aluminium in Deutschland heute nach den höchsten Produktionsstandards der Welt erzeugt. Emissionen wie etwa Gase oder Staub aus Fluoriden werden im Produktionsprozess nahezu vollständig aufgefangen. Abwasser wird aufbereitet und wieder im Produktionskreislauf genutzt, Filterstäube dem Recycling zugeführt und auch die Abgase von Recyclinganlagen werden gereinigt.

Nachhaltig ist Aluminium auch aufgrund seiner langen Nutzungsdauer und des geringen Aufwands für Pflege und Instandhaltung. Die SOMMER Unternehmensgruppe ist nach ISO 50001 zertifiziert und produziert zum Schutz von Ressourcen und Klima unter Einsatz eines Energiemanagementsystems.

Weitere Informationen

Warum Aluminium ein wichtiger Baustoff für die Architektur ist und wie das Leichtgewicht überhaupt gewonnen wird, können Sie in unserem gesamten Artikel als PDF nachlesen: